New Zealand ADSL Mailing List


Re: Increasing spam from NZ ADSL hosts

From: Nick Rout <nick_at_rout.co.nz>
Date: Mon, 14 Jun 2004 11:07:51 +1200
Message-Id: <20040614110516.C6A5.NICK@rout.co.nz>

for the ignorant (Read me) what does that do?

to my untutored eye it labels as germanspam anything with qmail@ in the
messageid.

is that a legitimate call? ie can that never be legitimate to have
qmail@ in your messageid?

On Mon, 14 Jun 2004 09:53:17 +1200
"Craig Whitmore" <lennon@orcon.net.nz> wrote:

> Yes. It was me :-)
>
> header GERMANSPAM MESSAGEID =~ /^<.*[a-z].*\.qmail\@.*>/
> describe GERMANSPAM Contains German Spam
> score GERMANSPAM 20 20 20 20
>
> Works 100%
>
> Thanks
> Craig
>
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: owner-adsl@unixathome.org [mailto:owner-adsl@unixathome.org] On
> > Behalf Of Mike Cooper
> > Sent: Monday, June 14, 2004 9:18 AM
> > To: Craig Humphrey
> > Cc: 'adsl@lists.unixathome.org'
> > Subject: Re: Increasing spam from NZ ADSL hosts
> >
> > Yeah, theres been heaps in the news about it - have a look at some of
> > the IT news sites:
> > http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/UNID/C0F6690249C852D2CC256EB0000B4F84
> > http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/06/11/german_hate_mail_virus/
> >
> > I think someone from this list developed a spamassasin rule that is
> > picking them up.
> >
> > Craig Humphrey wrote:
> >
> > >Hi People,
> > >
> > >Has anyone else noticed the increasing volume of German Spam from NZ ADSL
> > >hosts?
> > >I've had dozens over the last week, all from ADSL IP's. So far from
> > Xtra,
> > >IHUG and Paradise.
> > >
> > >What do people think, exploit based spam relaying or have professional
> > >spammers come to NZ?
> > >
> > >Note: these are beating my spam blocker, since it doesn't understand
> > German.
> > >
> > >Later'ish
> > >Craig
> > >
> > >
> > --
> > This message is part of the NZ ADSL mailing list.
> > see http://unixathome.org/adsl/ for archives, FAQ,
> > and various documents.
> > To unsubscribe: send mail to majordomo@lists.unixathome.org
> > with "unsubscribe adsl" in the body of the message
> >
>
>
> --
> This message is part of the NZ ADSL mailing list.
> see http://unixathome.org/adsl/ for archives, FAQ,
> and various documents.
> To unsubscribe: send mail to majordomo@lists.unixathome.org
> with "unsubscribe adsl" in the body of the message
>

-- 
This message is part of the NZ ADSL mailing list. 
see http://unixathome.org/adsl/ for archives, FAQ, 
and various documents. 
To unsubscribe: send mail to majordomo@lists.unixathome.org 
with "unsubscribe adsl" in the body of the message 
 
Received on Mon Jun 14 11:07:58 2004

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Thu Nov 30 11:48:31 2006 EST